We had our first ultrasound on Monday July 7th. It was very exciting being able to see our little baby. We were most excited to be able to find out the sex of the baby so that we could start planning for our little one. Just my luck, we were unable to see 100% if it was a girl or a boy. The technician said that she was pretty sure it was a girl but couldn't really tell.
Also, because the baby was in a position where it was hard to determine the sex she was also in a position that made it difficult for the technician to see her heart (notice I am calling her a her..). They need to be able to see every part of the baby and make sure everything is working properly before they reach 24 weeks old. Since they were unable to see everything we need to go back within the next 2 Weeks to have another ultrasound.
I was a little disappointed with the ultrasound clinic that we went to last because they don't give pictures of the baby. So I am excited that we get to have another ultrasound so that we can get a picture and see our little baby again. We did get a video of the ultrasound which is very cool to see, she moves around a ton and is soooo cute.
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
It's a girl?
Posted by The Hardings at 9:07 PM 1 comments
Labels: Baby Life
Wednesday, July 2, 2008
Greatest News Ever
So on Friday we had our 1st appointment at The Princess Margaret Hospital. We were a little nervous because this was the time we were going to find out if Tyler's cancer was gone or if they had missed something in February. Well, after the quickest CT scan ever, some chest x rays and blood work, I am thrilled to announce that Tyler, my amazing, wonderful, fantastic husband, is CANCER FREE!!!!
We were so happy to hear the doctor say that his results were clear and to come back in 4 months! We couldn't have asked for a better outcome. It is such a blessing that Tyler is healthy and that all is well.
This Monday July 7Th, we find out the sex of our baby and get to see its cute little face. I am sooooo excited. Even if they can't tell the sex I will be thrilled to be able to see the baby and know that it is healthy and all is well.
Last Monday was our 1 year anniversary. It was so nice to celebrate together. We went to Moxie's for dinner and then to the drive in to see Wanted and Iron man, great movies.
Writing has become very boaring for me lately. I feel like I have nothing exciting to talk about. Im sure after next week we will have more to say.
Posted by The Hardings at 2:01 AM 1 comments
Thursday, June 19, 2008
It's Finally Real
So, today Ty and I got to hear the baby's heartbeat at our Doctors appointment. Sooo amazing, the most amazing sounds and feeling I have ever had. It is so surreal that there is a living moving baby inside of me.
So when the midwife first attempted to hear the heartbeat the baby was moving all over the place. It was so nice to hear that we have such an active baby. So after about 7 minutes of searching, finding, then the baby moving out of the way....she finally got the baby to stop. The heartbeat was so fast!! 152 bpm. It was sooo cute. I had the biggest smile on my face and a little tear fell out of my eye. Ty was ecstatic and had the biggest smile I have ever seen him have. It was sooooooo amazing, I can't say it enough!
So that is the first exciting milestone in our little babies life and development! Next we find out the sex, which will be soooooo exciting. Being a pregnant and caring for a little human being growing inside of me is a feeling I never knew existed....I am just so in love with our little one. Ty said he can't imagine how happy we will be when we get to actually see our little one.
I am excited to find out the sex of the baby. We find out on July 7 and Tys Birthday is on July 8 so I think I will do something cute for his Birthday to tell him the sex. He wont be able to make it to the ultrasound because he will be working...so I thought that would be a nice way to tell him!
Posted by The Hardings at 8:02 PM 1 comments
Labels: Baby Life
Wednesday, June 18, 2008
Update, update!
So, like usual I have been slacking when it comes to writing in our blog. First let's get caught up...
I have been working as a nanny for the last month. I nanny 3 nights a week from 9pm - 7am. They are 10 week old baby twins boys. It is actually a lot of fun watching them...when they sleep. I have also started my own business selling Pampered Chef products...BOOK A PARTY!! Its a lot of fun and the money is pretty good. So during the week I have quite a bit of freedom. On Monday and Tuesdays I get to hang out with Ty and do stuff together. I do housework and just relax pretty much. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights I work and sleep all day. The weekends are great because me and Ty both have weekends off which hasn't happened I don't think ever, so its nice being able to do things.
Ty has been working at a factory for the last month and a bit. He seems to like it...well as much as you can I guess. It pays alright and the hours seem to work out well for us. Ty goes for his first CT scan at Princess Margaret on the 27th of June. He is not looking forward to it. Ty has a hard time doing anything that will help him. For example, if he has soar, itchy eyes he will REFUSE to put in eye drops. If Ty has a drop stuffed up nose, he will REFUSE to use any kind of nasal spray or those nose strips that help you breath. If Ty is sick he will REFUSE to take medicine...although he has gotten better at that. If Ty has really dry skin he will REFUSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! to use any kind of moisturizer....it is sooooo annoying. So when it comes to the CT scan Ty is required to drink this shake stuff that ensures a good pictures in the scan. Ty has a very very very hard time drinking this. He gages, throws up, chokes...you name it...such a baby...but he's my baby! So the CT scan is coming up fast and we are very anxious. It will be the first time since Ty's diagnoses that we will find out if he is cancer free. I have a very good feeling about it. The doctors are really great and feel confident that because of his surgery and how well everything looked all will be well!
So, next lets talk about baby. We are 17 weeks along now. Very exciting!!!!! We have yet to see the baby or hear the heartbeat. We have an appointment with the midwife tomorrow and hopefully all will be well. I have felt that baby moving...I think. It feels like little ripples inside me...also gas like. On July 7 th we get to have an ultrasound and find out the sex of the baby. I cant wait until we know more. The midwives haven't really done anything to let us know how the baby is doing or developing, so I hope after tomorrow we will have a better idea. If not I think we will move to an OB/GYN. I just feel like the midwives aren't doing everything they should to be ensuring babies health. Also, they seemed to have lost (or apparently someone stole) my medical records from the midwife office....they don't seem very organized.
I will write again tomorrow and let you know if we heard the heartbeat!
Posted by The Hardings at 11:46 PM 0 comments
Wednesday, May 28, 2008
Sweetest Husband Ever
So yesturday I guess my hubby had heard enough of my complaining that my clothes were too tight that he took me to buy some maternity clothes. He got me a pair of shorts, some skirts for church, a couple tops and a really really nice fancy top. He is just so sweet.
Posted by The Hardings at 2:46 PM 0 comments
Labels: Baby Life
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
Christmas???
So, our landlords live above us and we share air vents. I guess they were cooking something tonight and it didn't smell very nice. I got an idea that I could put some Cinnamon in water and put it on the stove to heat it up to make our home smell like Cinnamon. Now that it smells so good it makes me think of Christmas. Thinking of Christmas made me think of our baby who will be born Dec. 1. Just the thought of the warm feeling you get at Christmas, the beautifully decorated tree, the smell of yummy cookies baking, the smell of pine, yummy Cinnamon candles...and a warm cuddly baby to top it off.....wow...I cant wait for Christmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted by The Hardings at 6:09 PM 1 comments
Labels: Family
NEWS NEWS NEWS!
So I haven't written in a while because I felt like I had nothing to say other than WE ARE HAVING A BABY! Seriously, I felt like nothing was going on in our lives except for being pregnant, and since I couldn't tell anyone about that yet I had nothing to write about.
So, yes, we are pregnant! We are sooooooo excited! We began trying to get pregnant in November. We were successful in January but miscarried about 2 weeks in. We took a pregnancy test about the same day I was due for my period, I just felt pregnant. So we took the test and were a little surprised to find out we were pregnant because we had just started trying and were expecting it to take a little longer then a month. When we miscarried, it s hard to say, but it couldn't have happend at a better time. Tyler's cancer was still up in the air and we had no idea what was going on with that. Also, if we were to have not miscarried the baby would have been born in October, which meant I wouldn't be able to finish my degree.
So after our miscarriage we thought long and hard about what we should do, whether we should keep trying or not. After a miscarriage they say you should wait at least a month until your next menstrual cycle to start again. So during the month of waiting was when Tyler had his surgery and we found out that he had cancer. We were also told that our chances of having a child went down. We thought about it and figured that because our chances went down maybe we wouldn't be able to get pregnant. When you have difficulties getting pregnant you can seek medical hep but not for about after a year of trying. So we figured we would try for a year and then seek help, as we didn't think we would be able to get pregnant. Well....silly us, because low and behold, Tyler's little swimmers are fantastic and were eager to get back to work, because not even a month after his surgery WE GOT PREGNANT!!!! We never thought it would be so soon! We were thrilled to find out and to know that everything was great with Tyler's reproductive systems.
We take this as such a blessing that we were able to get pregnant because we were told it would be more difficult. We are truly blessed with everything that has happened these past few months.
Right now we are 13 weeks along. We have completed our 1st trimester!!!!!!! To my surprise I have gained no weight but 1 million inches around my waist. I am showing so much that I had to go out and buy maternity pants the other day because all of my pants are too tight around my belly. I am convinced that we are having twins because I am showing so early.
7 weeks
12 weeks
When we went to our midwife appointment last week we were able to try to hear the heartbeat. The midwife said that the chances of hearing it were about 50/50 because the baby is so low. Unfortunately we were unable to hear the heartbeat so we still don't know if we are having one or two! lol
I have pictures but I am not sure where my husband has put the cord that attaches to the computer...so those are on the way.
So everything in the pregnancy has gone really well so far. I haven't had any morning sickness, I do feel nauseous sometimes. I did have a lot of cramping in the beginning so was worried we were going to lose the baby again, but it was normal, just my uterus contracting..lol. No weird cravings, I just want ravioli all the time!! Soooo yummy.
Everyone always asks us "do you want a boy or a girl?" I am totally happy with whatever God has blessed us with. I always think a girl would be nice because you can dress them up and do a lot more with them, but a boy would be great too, because I never had a brother, and boys are just cool! So we will see. If we have twins I would like fraternal, a boy and girl. I think twins would be so much fun, a lot of work, but fun.
As for school, I plan to graduate this December with my bachelors degree. Then continue with teachers college the following September. The baby will be about 9 months then and hopefully I can juggle both. I plan on staying home with the baby anyway until the baby goes to school then I will go to work, I just want to have the opportunity to go to work whenever I feel it necessary. Tyler will continue school for the next 3 years and mainly focus on that. I want that best for him and school is very important.
I am very excited to find out the sex of the baby later on so that we can start planning a little better. I can't wait to start decorating the nursery.
Posted by The Hardings at 5:10 PM 2 comments
Labels: Family
Thursday, April 3, 2008
Ketchup!
So, it's been a while. Let's play ketchup!!
Ty and I are in the process of withdrawing from school for the semester. We had to take off so much time for Ty's surgery that we just couldn't catch up on all of our missed work. We are also hoping that as soon as our withdrawal goes through we can get our tuition back that we paid. Figers crossed.
So, last summer I had a fantastic job at Georgian College. I made insane money and the job was really great. I was given the opportunity to have this job again and have been depending on it to make a good income for the summer. Well I just found out that the person I cover for over the summer won't be tkaing time off so now I don't have a job. Now I am freaking out trying to find a job. Also at the daycare that I work at I am getting NO hours. So pretty much it's just Ty working right now which is relaly frustrating. Hopefully I find a job in the next few days. Anything at this point I'll take.
As far as weather goes....I thought winter was over???? What is with this snow? I cannot wait for the hot weather. We live right down by the beach now and I can't wait to take nice walks down by the beach and bbq out in our backyard.
We have lots of other plans but I will have to update you all when the time is right!
Posted by The Hardings at 5:08 PM 1 comments
Thursday, March 20, 2008
VENTING!!!!!!!!!!
So, my husband works such dumb hours. I hate it. I tell him, Babe, work the same hours as me, which would be 8-6ish. He makes his availability that but when it comes to getting shifts at work he works hours like 2 45 pm to 7 30pm. I just hate when we have plans to do stuff and we can never do them because he always gets off of work so late. Like tonight. I am going to a fitness class at 8 o'clock but I need to leave by 7 30. Ty tells me that he wont be home till 7 30 at the earliest. Now I need to wait for him because we only have one car and Ill need to pick him up from work when he's done. It just really bothers me. He gets mad when I tell him that I hate him working late hours and he just tells me "Babe, I need to work to make money..." I just wonder, why can't he tell his work that he needs to be home at a certain time. Why can't they start him at an earlier time?
Ergggg, it just makes me so mad!!! I am very grateful that he works to make money for our family, I just wish I could see him more.
Posted by The Hardings at 2:55 PM 1 comments
Labels: Marriage
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
Thinking...
So I have been a blogger slacker for the last little while. Working full time doesn't really give me a lot of time to blog, but I am going to try and do it more often, like I always say.
So nothing much has been happening lately. Easter is this weekend and I have really made it a point to not do the traditional gifts and Easter egg hunt. I really want to remember the life, death and Resurrection of our savior Jesus Christ. I have really been trying to draw closer to him and do things that he would be proud to see me do. I think at this time of the year we really need to reassess our lives and think, "Am I living my life in a way that Christ would be proud of?" and "am I taking advantage of the sacred gift that Christ gave us at his death?" I get so angry when I think of the sacrifices that Christ made for us and the pain and suffering that he went through for our benefit and yet so many people ignore that and don't live there lives to his standards.
I really hope that this Easter season we can all grow closer to Christ and live our lives in a way that we are accepting that gift he gave us.
I have been working full time at a daycare that I love. It is so nice having a full time job again. After talking to a friend today I am going to apply to be a supply teacher at schools here in town. i love love love teaching and figure that I might as well get some more experience.
I have also been thinking about starting up my own home daycare. I have a business plan and everything all set up. i think Ill just keep it all under raps until the timing is right. I still want to be a teacher, and definitely plan on finishing school. Here is the plan. Open the daycare September 1 2008. Take night classes and online courses. It may take me an extra semester to finish school though. I just really love working in the daycare setting and would love being the one in charge so that way I could incorporate an educational plan into the daily lessons. I dunno, its just an idea. Then I thought, if we decide the have a child in the near future then I can run the daycare while staying home with our children....What do you think?
Well that's all I can think about writing...going to go watch ANTM
Posted by The Hardings at 4:40 PM 0 comments
Labels: Life
Thursday, March 13, 2008
OUR NEW PLACE!

This is our room from the far corner looking out. We really didn't like the closet at first, but now its growing on me. The room is smaller then our last room so the furniture is kind of cramped, but its still nice I think.



This is our bathroom. Its small but cute.

Our new shower curtain. I love love love it. Ty does too.
Posted by The Hardings at 3:54 PM 4 comments
Labels: Apartment Living
Saturday, March 8, 2008
A New Beginning
So life has been pretty crazy lately. We haven't had the Internet for over a week now since we have moved. But it is all hooked up and we are back in business.
We are all moved in and settled in our new place. I LOVE IT!!! it is so so beautiful! I will take pictures but I need to make sure the house is spotless first...first impression means everything. It is such an improvement on our first place. I hope we stay her for a while. Plus the second bedroom would make a perfect nursery...;) one day
So we had an appointment at Princess Margarette thins week to discuss radiation therapy and what we need to do. Well, the doctors decided that because of Ty's age, his great health and plans on having children, we are not going to go through with radiation. Out of all the men that are diagnosed with testicular cancer and have the surgery to remove it 5 out of 6 will not need radiation. The doctors believe that it doesn't make a lot of sense to give 5 men out of 6 radiation that don't need it. there are also a lot of health risks of getting radiation. Of course it cures the cancer that they are treating but it also may cause other cancers within 30 years (which wouldn't be a problem for an older man, but for a young guy like my hubby it could be serious). Heart disease and other illnesses could also be caused by radiation treatment.
So doctors have decided to put Tyler on a Surveillance program. For the next 3 years he will get a CT scan every 4 months, 3 years after that it will be twice a year, and then for the last 4 years it will be once a year. It is ten years in all that he will be enrolled in this surveillance program. Crazy to think that we will have growing children by then. So we think that this is a great idea. It is good that Ty doesn't have to go through any treatments..I am thrilled.
As far as school goes, we were planning on withdrawing because of all the time we would have to take off from school and all of the stress, emotional and physical drainage we would be going through. Now that we aren't going through with the treatment I think we will still try to withdraw since we have missed so much school already. I am fully intending to pick up classes in the summer time. We need to fax our letters to the Registrar that we wrote to withdraw. I will let you know how that turns out as soon as we find out.
We moved back home last weekend too, which is so so nice. Not only is our place fantastic but we just love where we are. I was able to go to Aqua fit with my mother in law last week, which I could never do when we were in Orillia. I am really looking forward to getting a gym pass and getting in shape. Now that we are in Barrie there is so so much that I want to do. I am going to make a list of things, almost like my new years resolutions, but I ll call them my....Moving to a new place wanting to make a new start resolutions....lol.
so I would like to....
lose 10 lbs
go to the gym 3 times a week
go for walks with Ty
work 40hrs a week - find a great job
stop biting my nails
save money to go on a trip at Christmas time
pay off our debt
develop a stronger relationship with my parents/siblings/grandparents
read scriptures everyday together
become more active with church callings
go to the temple every month
get my patriarchal blessing
oh man...there are so many more...
Since we have moved here I get up way earlier then we used to. It used to be when 11am would roll around we would get up. No we are up at 7 ish and either off to work. When I m not working I am like a little housewife. Its kind of fun. It makes me feel so good when Ty can come home from work to a clean house with dinner on the table.
Well...once I take some pictures I will put them up. Now that we are settled and we have the Internet I will be sure to post at least once a week!!!!
Posted by The Hardings at 6:14 PM 1 comments
Labels: Apartment Living, Family, Life, Marriage
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
STRESSED OUT!!!!!!
So today we realized that WE CANT GET A TRUCK for this weekend. SUCKS SO BAD! We are going to try and get a trailer now, but who knows. Apparently people like to move March 1.
I have been so stressed out I think because of Work, school, Tyler, driving back and forth, the house, money...the list goes on and on.
I really hope this all pulls together. I will just keep praying and hopefully everything will run smoothly!
Posted by The Hardings at 7:06 PM 1 comments
Labels: Life
Monday, February 25, 2008
WE ARE OUTTA HERE!!!!!!!
SO!! GUESS WHAT!!!??? WE GOT THE APARTMENT AND DUSTIN AND COOKIE ARE MOVING INTO THE ORILLIA APARTMENT!! It is so so exciting! I am so excited for us and that we can move to Barrie and be close to work. I am also so so so so so excited for Dustin and Cookie and that they can finally have their own space and become their own family! So we all move Saturday!! It is going to be a CRAZY day but so exciting. We meet with our new landlord tomorrow to go over the details!
Today I started working full time. I almost forgot what it felt like to work and contribute financially, it feels good. I just hope I can find a full time job. Right now I am working as a supply teacher, this week it is full time, but probably not all the time. So... still looking for a job.
We started packing today. We figured we would pack a room a day for the next 5 days. Today we did the office. Tomorrow I don't think we'll have time to pack cause we will be in Barrie for a while with the Landlord. So Wednesday we'll do the kitchen, Thursday the bathroom, Friday our room...hmmm what about the storage unit and the living room...guess we'll have to pull a late night tomorrow.
so we are going to have some help on Saturday. Ty's dad, 2 brothers, cousin, my dad are going to help. I think I will call the Bishop and missionaries in Barrie tomorrow and ask them to help us too.
We are so excited to move to Barrie!!
Posted by The Hardings at 7:36 PM 2 comments
Labels: Apartment Living
Friday, February 22, 2008
Moving
Ok, so we still don't know 100% if we can move in to our new place yet. We have been accepted but our friends Dustin and Cookie who are supposed to be moving into our current place in Orillia still haven't been accepted yet.
Even though we are not 100% sure, I was hoping that anyone reading this, who lives in our area, would be able to help us move since Ty can't really lift anything. It would be great if you could keep Saturday March 1st open to help us, but we will let you know 100% in a few days!
Thanks!!
Posted by The Hardings at 9:48 PM 1 comments
Labels: Apartment Living
Decorating Ideas
So, since our new bedroom doesn't have a closet, there is a built in closet organizer thingy. It is not that pretty....so I was hoping all of you reading my blog would have some great ideas to hide it, yet make it look great. The wall is now beige, not blue.
Any ideas?
Thanks!
Posted by The Hardings at 9:42 PM 2 comments
Labels: Apartment Living
Happy - ness!!!
So, a friend of mine had a really great idea. She divided happiness into four parts and depending on how strong each of these parts are determines your happiness. Her 4 categories were family, friends/social life, love and hobbies. Here is what she said;
The way I see it there are four parts of your heart and when all four parts are full you are truly happy.
The first part is obviously family. Everyone needs a supportive family backing them.
The next part of happiness is your career or school. You should have a job that you love waking up to every day and look forward to. Your job should also challenge you and give you the confidence to keep going on. So if you're in school or not, you should be working towards your career and enjoying it. You should like going to your classes and you should respect your teachers cause they went through the same thing you did.
The third part of happiness is definitely your friends and your social life. Everyone needs at least one friend that they can tell everything too and trust.
I also think that everyone should have their hobbies. Whether it be playing or watching sports or music everyone should have a second love like that.
The final part of happiness is obviously romance, love, that special someone. I say that this is the key part to being happy. I think that no one can truly be happy until that have that someone that makes they happy every time they hear their name. Just the thought of getting to see your person soon should bring butterflies to your stomach.
K well, I guess that makes five, but I think you understand what she means.
That's crazy. I never thought about happiness like that. Its a great way to look at it. Well I think I am about 60% happy according to her study.
I have the love of my live. I couldn't imagine being married to anyone other then my husband. He is just so perfect for me. Of course we fight and bicker, but we learn so much about each other because of it. For only being married for 8 months I think we are doing pretty darn well.
I also have the great family. My family is very supportive. We don't always see eye to eye, but again we heave all learnt from it. My husbands family is also pretty awesome. I have learned a lot from them, and like I tell my mother in law all of the time, if it wasn't for her I probably wouldn't have kept dating Ty when we were in high school.
I have a few great friends but they are either in Thunder Bay :( Married with a baby so we never get to hang out really, or they are totally attached to their bfs. I definitely need to work on the friends thing, the only person I hang out with is the Hubby. He is my best friend but there are only so many things you can talk to the husband about. Sometimes its just nice to have a girlfriend to talk to. So, yes I need to work on that one.
And as far as a hobbies goes, does sitting on the couch count? I honestly do nothing, I think its cause I'm stuck in a crappy city..but hopefully once we move in Barrie I will be able to start going to the gym and doing fun things!! I can't wait to start getting active and having fun and DOING SOMETHING!!
So ya, I would say about 60% happy is where I score. How about you!?
Posted by The Hardings at 8:57 AM 1 comments
Wednesday, February 20, 2008
Our New Place
Here are some pics of our potential place. The blue room is now beige like everything else. The only thing we don't like is that the maser bedroom doesnt have a closet but has a built in clothes organizer thingy. So I figure I will just get a really nice heavy drape...maybe brown, and hang it by some wire to cover it up.
I love the lighting. Nice natural light and beautiful spot lights through out. AND EACH LIGHT HAS ITS OWN LIGHT SWITCH!!! Unlike our recent place where you turn on one switch and all the lights come on!
Oh, and what's really cool is that it is on the same street that my grandmother lived on years and years ago. Great memories and right by the beach!
Leave a comment and let me know what you think....oh and if you'd like to help us move March 1st, let us know!
We will know for sure if we get the place by Friday hopefully!
Posted by The Hardings at 8:22 PM 3 comments
Labels: Apartment Living
Feel Like a Million Bucks!
So wierd. So I decided to have a hot bath and have some tea and honey and I feel so so much better. Maybe I just needed some quiet time, since the boys have been like little two year olds all weekend. LOL!
Well, feeling much better! Going to go watch a movie now!
Posted by The Hardings at 8:11 PM 0 comments
Labels: Life
Not Feeling So Hot
So tonight I made ribs for dinner for Ty, Tim and Myself. Almost right after I started feeling really sick to my stomache. The guys say that they feel fine. So, not so sure why I'm feeling so gross. I figure I will just have some peppermint tea and honey and maybe have a hot bath to relax and sooth my stomache. I hate feeling crappy.
Posted by The Hardings at 7:18 PM 1 comments
Labels: Life
Life Changing
So, now that we have decided to go through with treatment, Ty and I are moving to Barrie and getting full time jobs. We found a beautiful place in that we really really love. We went and checked it out yesterday and think that we will for sure move in. We just need to find someone to begin renting our current place for March. We also have been looking for full time jobs. I am pretty sure I have found one but I will let you all know as soon as I do.
Posted by The Hardings at 12:00 PM 0 comments
Labels: Family
Saturday, February 16, 2008
Thank You
Just a quick note. A friend of mine has been helping me out tremendously with blogging since I am new at it. I just wanted to say thank you to her. I would have the crappiest blog ever if it weren't for you!!!
Thanks S.G.
Posted by The Hardings at 9:16 PM 1 comments
Labels: Quick Note
SO MUCH SNOW!
Orillia is the absolute worst place to live when it comes to snow. We have had, no joke, about 5 feet of snow in the last 2 weeks. I don't think I would mind as much, but because I am the one that has to shovel all the time, since Ty can't, I HATE IT!!! I dread looking outside in the morning because I know that the snow plow would have come by in the night and I will have a huge mess of heavy, icy snow to shovel up. Tyler loves to shovel so it is killing him that he can't go out and do it. How I wish Tyler was healed because I cannot stand it. It's not that I don't have the strength, its just that there is never an end to it. I will work my butt off shoveling one day and then the next day it is the same thing. SO FRUSTRATING! And do you think that our upstairs neighbors would help us, OHHHH NOOOO. They walk down our driveway to get out because they are too lazy to shovel their own (they do have their own driveway although they don't have a car) and they use the front steps. You think they would at least shovel that. And because they walk down our driveway they pack the snow down which makes it even harder to shovel. I can't wait to move, they drive me nuts.
Pictures to follow of this sky scrapping snow.
Posted by The Hardings at 9:07 PM 1 comments
Labels: Apartment Living, Weather
Valentines Day
My Husband is so sweet. Because he has been recovering he has not been him self and just sleeps all day. He is also in a lot of pain trying to heal. Well, did he not put all of the things that he was going through aside and surprised me with some flowers and chick flicks on valentines day. The next day, because Ty can't really do a whole lot at once, he took me to see the new movie "Defiantly, Maybe", and then today took me out for a romantic, delicious dinner. He is so so sweet, so selfless and caring. I love him so very much. We were talking the other day and I cannot believe we have been married for almost 8 months. I know it may not sound long but to us it has just flown by!
I really want to start adding pictures. I have never ever been good with taking pictures so I really want to work on that and try to take tons and add them to show you all.
Posted by The Hardings at 9:02 PM 0 comments
Labels: Marriage
Let's Get Caught Up!
Ok, so I know it has been a very long time since we wrote last. I promise that we will make it a point to write often and let everyone know what's going on in our lives.
So, the last time I wrote was new years, so I will start there.
I don't think we have met any of our new years resolutions. We read our scriptures often but I think out of all of the resolutions we made that is the only one we have kept.
School has been great. We really wanted to work hard this semester and get really good grades. Well that lasted for about a month, I will explain why a little later.
So, we have decided that Orillia is not the place for us and that it is in our best interest to move to Barrie. We are there almost everyday, all of our family lives there and Ty works in Barrie, hopefully I'll get a job there too!
So I think it would be easier to talk about everything after have explained the main event that has taken over our lives.
About 2 weeks before Christmas Tyler noticed a lump on his testicle and knew that something was wrong. We went to the doctor who then said that we needed to go and get an ultrasound. After calling a ton of ultrasound clinics to try and find an earlier date, the earliest time would have been Jan. 12, a month after the doctors appointment, we finally found a place in Bradford. After the ultrasound we were told that Ty would have to get some blood tests done. Ty is a big baby when it comes to anything medical, but he took it like a man and got blood taken. We then were told that he would have to get some x rays, another ultrasound and meet with a Urologist. All this time we were pretty much left in the dark. No one would tell us what was going on or what the lump was. Our first thought was that it was cancer so we wanted to get all of the appointments done ASAP so that we could figure it out and get it early. So about a month later we finally had our appointment with the Urologist, 2 months earlier then we were supposed to because they moved up the appointment date for us. At the appointment he just got straight to the point and said that Ty would have to have the testicle removed in order to do a biopsy and determine what the lump was and what the next steps were. All of the blood tests, x rays and ultrasounds came back negative, they couldn't detect any cancer, but the doc wanted to remove it just to be sure. So Tyler had surgery on Feb. 6 to have the testicle removed. A week later, this past Wednesday, we had another appointment with the doctor to find out the results from the biopsy and from the CT scan that Tyler had to get a day earlier. Just to talk about the CT scan for a moment, my husband is the biggest baby in the world. In order to have a CT scan done there is this stuff that you need to drink that will help the doctors see your organs and all your insides. Anyways, so Tyler refused to drink this stuff, I do believe it tasted horrible. So he downed the first bottle ok, even though he did gage a lot. The next morning before the scan he needed to drink another bottle but WOULD NOT DO IT! So I called the hospital to see if there was another way to ingest the stuff. They said for him to come in and they would give it to him another way. They gave him a cup of orange juice withe a concentrated amount of the drink...he said that it was much better lol. So anyways, back to the appointment this past Wednesday. The doctor got straight to the point and told us that it was cancer. It is called Classic Seminoma. Luckily though, Tyler caught it very VERY early. When the doctor did the surgery he was able to remove everything and the cancer had not spread!!! We now have the decision to either just leave it and live our life and go for check ups every 6 months and hope that it doesn't come back (15% chance that it would) or to begin treatment, just a small amount of Radiation, and know that it won't come back (3% chance of the 15% chance that it would come back). I think we are going to go through with radiation because I know I would be worried all of the time if we did nothing about it. The only down side to going through with radiation is that is reduces our chances of having children. Because of this we will probably be going to a sperm bank just to ensure that we could have children. Tyler's health though is more important to me then children.
So that is what has been going on in our life and because of it everything else has pretty much been put on the back burner. We are probably going to finish our semester of school this week. We won't be able to focus on school, work and be going to Toronto for 4 weeks straight all at the same time. I am still planning on taking summer classes just so I can still graduate at the same time, so I don't think it will hurt us too much by putting this semester on hold.
We are now planning on moving to Barrie so that we can both work full time in Barrie and then when it comes time to start treatment we can be a bit closer to family and be in a place that we really love.
So, I haven't worked at all since the summer. I have been looking for jobs, but just can't find anything in Orillia. Ty was working while we were in school so money wasn't really an issue, but now that OSAP has run out and it is nearing the end of the school year we are going to need some income coming in. We both have great jobs lined up for the summer but I need a job to get us to the summer. Now that we are moving to Barrie though I am really looking forward to working full time at a place I like. I still haven't found a job yet but I have been searching and finding some great job postings online in Barrie.
Well, that is just a little taste of what our life had been like. There is more to come, just need to wait for the right time.
Posted by The Hardings at 8:26 PM 1 comments
Labels: Life
Monday, January 7, 2008
A New Year
Well, Tyler and I have made a huge list of new years resolutions that we hope to achieve this year. I hope to achieve the usual, lose 15 lbs, eat better, go to bed earlier, go to class, do all of my assignments, but we also really hope to read our scriptures everyday and attend the temple once a month. The new year is a great time to make new goals for ourselves and get a new start at life.
So, after having lost our keys and going totally crazy ...WE FOUND THEM!!! Of all places they were under our mattress, between our mattress and box spring, how they got there, I have no idea. So after finding them and Tyler being as happy as a little school girl, he lost them AGAIN!! He is not meant to have a set of keys. I wish they had a remote control alarm or something that you can attach to your keys and then when you have misplaced them, push a button and then an alarm will go off that you can follow the sound and find you keys. So, we were at my parents place when he lost the keys for the second time, well really my Dad lost them. We were out skating with my sisters and my dad needed to move our car so he could go out. My dad took Ty's keys to move the car then said that he put them back in Ty's coat pocket. Tyler searched his jacket inside and out (or so he said). After 2 more days of Tyler being convinced that my dad lost the keys, I decided to take another look in his jacket. Low and behold they were of course in his pocket. Mind you the keys were in a pocket that Tyler didn't even know that he had, they were still there. I have now made it my mission to help my husband to not lose his keys for the next week, that might be impossible.
These last two months have been some pretty painful ones. My grandmother, we know her best as Nana, and my great grandmother have past away. With my Nana it was pretty sudden. She had been sick for a while but I never thought her life would end as fast as it did. My grandmother past away just this past weekend. She was 88 years old and we had been expecting it for a very very long time. Since her husbands passing almost 15 years ago grandma just wanted to leave this earth and return to him.
It is so different how having the gospel of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in our lives can help us to understand and deal with death. I remember that when my grandfather past away 2 years ago I really didn't have a full understanding of life on earth and why it had to end. I now know it is all a part of God's plan. I just think of how extremly happy Nana and Grandma must be right now. They have returned to their Father in Heaven. They are surrounded by their loved ones and ancestors. Although my family may be sad right now, our time on earth is so short in an eternal perspective that we will return to them in no time. Our loved ones that pass away do remember us and love us and understand that we need to go through the grieving process but we need to remember to live our lives, in this world, in a way that will make our family and our father in heaven happy and honoured when we return to them.
Posted by The Hardings at 9:07 PM 0 comments
Labels: Family


